So this weekend began on Friday. . . I went to substitute for 6th grade at a school which I had hoped to get a job but never received a call to interview. Well, I went in to the office to ask about jobs and found out they were interviewing for the position. I went back to my class a bit discouraged since I hadn’t gotten a call for the interview. Well, they paged me and asked if I wanted to take a spot that someone dropped out of. . . of course. An hour later they sent someone down to relieve me and I headed up to the office to interview. I walked out feeling the same as always, but then later the administrator came and asked me to stop by the office before I left. (my thought . . . they want to reject me in person. . . ) So after school I went to the office and he called me in and was like, thanks for your flexability . . . blah, blah, blah. . . we were impressed with your knowledge you brought to the table. . . blah, blah, blah, (I kept waiting for the BUT). . . He then says, “We’d like to offer you the job.” My brilliant response, “REALLY???” I couldn’t believe it!!!

So now I am the new Significant Special Needs teacher at Roxborough Intermediate. The very cool thing about this is that I don’t have a license to teach SPED, however my district has a program that I am enrolled in and I will be trained and coached through the next two years and will, at completion, have a license!!! I will also be working with another SSN teacher as Roxborough is building a new school and we will be all together for the first 6 months of school, then will split and I’ll be in my own room with 3rd – 6th graders. I’m so excited and I start the beginning of July!!!

That was the beginning of the weekend, then Nick and his sister Abby and I left to go down to Lake Pueblo State Park to meet up with Nick’s dad and step mom, Sue. We “camped” with them for 2 nights and hung out by the lake, played games, and ate!!! I say “camped” because they have a delux RV with ac and running water, flushing toilet, and beds!!! SPOILED, but it was a fun change.

Here’s some pictures:

Family Picture. . .

img_1967-1.JPG

We got a great sunset Friday night !!!

img_1693.JPG

Nick’s tripod and new camera are a lot of fun to play with. Nick is enjoying getting a ton of different shots. We also love betting out of the city so you can actually see stars!!!

Nick also enjoyed rock jumping into the lake!!

img_1883.JPG

