After a few “glorious” years of getting free or nearly free deals on shampoo and deodorant, soap, lotion, etc. . . I’m giving all that up to make my own. Why? because after reading some blogs that cite some very scary stuff that is in the cosmetic products we use. . .

http://www.naturalfamilyonline.com
The following I found on this blog . . . “I came across an article in regards to a study researchers at the National Institutes of Health performed which showed that several shampoos (I’m looking at you, Pantene, Clairol, Suave, Head and Shoulders…) contain a nerve damaging poison called MIT (aka “methylisothiazoline). This delightful chemical can cause great neurological damage with repeated use, as well as cancer and liver disorders (source: http://healthnews.benabraham.com/html/your_shampoo_has_bad_toxins.html).

Another research study from “Science Daily” is calling out the ingredient “DEA” (diethanolamine), stating that it is a potential carcinogen and birth defects (in mice, anyway) such as memory function defects. (http://healthnews.benabraham.com/html/your_shampoo_has_bad_toxins.html). ”

Here’s another link to check out: http://www.naturalnews.com/003210.html

More blogs to check: http://babyslime.livejournal.com/174054.html

Yikes, after reading other things like this I decided to go through my shampoo and look at the labels.  What is in the bottle – here’s the list: Ammonium Lauryl sulfate, Ammonium laureth sulfate, Cocamide MEA, Ammonium chloride, PEG-5, Cocamide, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Hydroxpropyl methylcellulose, Polyquaternium-10, Tetrasodium EDTA, DMDM hydantoin, Citric acid, Tocopheryl acetate, Methylchloroisothiazolonone, Methylisothiazolinone, PEG/PPG-20/15 Dimethicone

Instead of doing this to my body, I’ve been using baking soda and vinegar to wash my hair. I really like the way my hair has been working, and in this experiment I also started growing out my hair.

Other cosmetics that I’ve made. . . .

Deodorant First attempt: coconut oil, baking soda and cornstarch, and Essential Oil (tee tree)

2nd Attempt- I like this recipe much better . . .

3 Tablespoons shea butter
3 Tablespoons baking soda
2 Tablespoons corn starch
2 Tablespoons cocoa butter
Essential Oil (I used tea tree)

Toothpaste

Basic Ratio: 6 parts baking soda : 1 part hydrogen peroxide solution

Chapstick

2 Tablespoons beeswax (about 1 oz)
2 Tablespoons coconut oil
2 Tablespoons shea butter
12 lip balm containers
dropper

Up next I want to try this recipe . . . I’ll let you know how it worked.

