This year needed to be special since I turned 30!  Celebration started the Saturday before when Nick bought me a Ninja blender that we’ve been eying for a while.  It came out of the box and I have used it so much to blend, chop, puree and beat all kinds of foods.  My birthday was on a Tuesday and despite a stressful few days at work, my students made it fun by singing to me.  Some actually broke into song each time throughout the day that they saw me.  It was fun.  My assistants also brought in breakfast and I brought brownies to share with everyone at the end of the day.  Tuesday for dinner, Nick took me to an Indian restaurant nearby that we had not been to since it’s opening.  It was very yummy and we even enjoyed Chai Tea and dessert.

Saturday was the big day of partying.  I used the Ninja and cooked Lasagna and meatballs and we bought 9 types of cheese to pair with the wine to be served.  We rented out Water 2 Wine for a couple of hours for tastings.  We had about 45 friends come and celebrate.  We ate yummy food and drank amazing wine.  There was a quiz about me. 😉 Yes cheezy, but fun!! A family friend of Nick’s who had come to do a college visit for his son actually won.  We were all very surprised, but he commented that he had just spent two days staying at our house and he listened well.  I guess so.  Second place went to Nick’s brother-in-law, also a surprise.  Way to go boys.

Sunday was more celebration. Nick and I went out for breakfast to a local place we had not visited yet, Toast. Then our church celebrated as well with  a lovely Whole Foods Berry Chantilly cake and more singing and fun.  Thank you for all the amazing birthday wishes, it was a great start to what will be a great year of changes.

