This spring I am enjoying my own garden plot (20×20)  in a community garden only a few blocks away.  As Nick puts, it, mine is unique.  I have never liked the straight rows of gardens, so I have patches and some rows mixed up between various types of the same seed (ie lettuce).  I was all excited to try a greenhouse on my patio for starting seeds, however that did not work, so I bought seeds and have hopes for using my own seedlings next year.  Here’s some pictures of my garden.  I’ve planted, lettuce, swiss chard, cucumber, beets, zucchini, squash, melons, tomatoes and pepper plants, beans (green and dried) and peas.

Tomatoes with walls of water to help protect them. The tall poles are for the “cages” when they grow. . . yes it adds to the chaos.

        

The sad but necessary demise of gardening is always the weather.  This past week we have had crazy storms in CO.  One in particular brought hail and flooding to our area.  The hail was enough to shred all my plants’ leaves, however I think they’ll survive as the flooding thankfully did not wipe out the roots.  The flooding did however provide our creek enough water to flood the bridge behind our place.

The path to the bridge, flooded.

Nick woke up at 4am and the water was at the bottom of this sign.

Last year we discovered, we loved Grant Farms for local delivery of organic  vegetables.  This year we decided to volunteer some hours at the farm.  Kara and a friend from church planted potatoes in April and this past weekend Nick went along to help.  We were assigned to hoeing the perennial garden.  So we hoed for 4 hours.  It was fun, and I was definitely sore afterwards.  Check this blog out to see more from one of the interns and look for friendly faces towards the bottom of the page.

Potato field Kara and Hannah helped to plant.

One of the things that I don’t know if I’ll ever get used to about living in CO is the possibility and likely hood of wild fires in the mountains.  We had the Lower North Form fire in the end of March which burned almost 5000 acres and since it was south-west of us, the smoke was terrible right over our house.  This weekend as we were leaving the farm to get lunch, we spotted the smoke clouds in the mountains which is now known as the High Park Fire, which as of this writing is still burning un-contained. It started apparently by lightning about 6am and has now burned 41,000 acres of land.  It is very sad, but happens frequently out here.

By 3pm the fire had grown significantly.

On a lighter note, here’s the update on our kitty.  It has been determined that unlike her daddy, she prefers the light, cheap beers.

