I was able this year to get a 20 by 20 foot plot in a local community garden.  They provide water for a small annual fee.  I love it as it is only a few blocks from the house so I can walk up, water and tend and walk back in about an hour. This is the first time I’ve done a garden all by myself so it is exciting, but I feel that my bounty is definitely not my doing but God’s.  I tried to grow seedlings but they didn’t work out, however due to a very warm spring I planted the first round mid April. Some of those came up, some did not.  The peas from April have done great and I’ve enjoyed tons of snow peas.  The first pea harvest consisted of 4, the middle of June. I was so excited, I ate two there and brought two home to show Nick.

A few days later, I had a handful of peas and they kept coming for the past 4 weeks, but sadly they are dying out for other things.  Towards the end of June I picked my first zucchini.  My zucchini plants (2) have been very prolific and given us tons to eat and share.  My yellow squash is producing and we’ve enjoyed some and shared some.  We are starting to get some very yummy green beans as well.  I’m starting to get a ton of green tomatoes and mini melons.

I love to go and see the bees, ladybugs and birds that feast as well around the plants. I haven’t had any major issues with bugs yet, there was what looked like a potato bug eating my bean leaves, but they are doing better, so that’s good, I didn’t even puree guts and pour that on.  😉  I water about every other day and pray for lots of rain as well.  I have used my vermi-compost and worm juice to fertilize.  It is so much fun to get to play in the dirt and eat from it as well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

